Instagram of memories

Many of us love posting on instagram… We all may not be influencers. …. But some validation now and then doesn’t hurt. The millenials at times feed themselves by it… Literally and emotionally.

Narendra lake at Puri

The major segment of posts are travel pictures, architechture, memes and cute animals. The first two are under a lockdown. The influencers aren’t travelling, the followers are seeing old content and even original photographers have resorted to reposting. While, all of it is OKay, the question is what is the way forward?

Will things change, will there be some other kind of travel mode, will virtual travel become a thing and will it be #trending ? Also… What about digital nomads? And wildlife photographers. Of course, one day all that might open up…. But what do we do to fill up that void?

Personally, I travel because it’s great… Fills me up with unknown emotions, inspires me to do things, pushes me to work well and has made me empathetic. Travelling Imho is a profound experience, and for a gypsy soul like me, it’s like an intoxication. I know for a fact how people are craving to travel to great places… But *sigh*

Enjoying little moments in life

After speaking to a few people (about 18), mostly travellers, agents, influencers, friends who love travel… Etc, I figured there is a segment who feel they need to be relevant, after all… their livelihood depends on it. The entire travel industry is crashing. And it doesn’t seem to be of much benefit… Except there is way less carbon footprints. The choices that people are making are a product of fear , arrogance, suspicion, caution… But end of the day economy is suffering.

I would like to talk about how did I cope and going forward what do I plan. I was never a mindless traveller and now I am even more aware. I realized that sometimes reading travel books can keep me happy for a few days, walks and long cycling sessions into unknown spaces of my town is something to look forward to. While I loved observing cultures of different people, I park myself in a balcony and watch people and scribble things.

Musings and animated conversations

These things make you happy and is a travel in its own way. Honestly, it can give you enough material to post as well. There is always good photography trick and techniques that you can try with family and friends. I urge you to tell stories. I can’t emphasise enough… TELL. STORIES.

Celebrating the routine.

I am not talking about silly insta stories…. But about what you saw, felt, spoke, did…. About yourself, about the others…. Being more real will get you off that validation addiction too. We are now in an space when talking to people and human interactions are becoming less and less feasible. Social media is now becoming the new connect and context. So when building on it… Build well, build real, build strong. Don’t wait to travel as soon as this nightmare is over… It would drive you crazy and desperate. Start travelling into other spaces… Into yourself, psyche of others, little nooks and corners of the city. Let’s build an appreciation and gratitude of everything there is.

Capturing these little moments of happiness @home

The idea is to explore other aspects of travel. Change the perspective and become fluid and ever adapting. Why? Because it is BEAUTIFUL.

Published by rachitarath

A traveller with really jittery feet... love to collect stories and connect with people. Experiencing life and this world through curious and eager eyes. My job takes be to villages and towns to design and develop handicrafts, which am absolutely passionate about

Leave a comment